IASAT 2017 - 2nd Congress

Events > 2017 > September > IASAT 2017 - 2nd Congress

About this event:

Created by IASAT

The 2nd IASAT Congress – 2017 – Liverpool, UK

Friday 1st September – Sunday 3rd September

LIVERPOOL SKYLINE AT NIGHT FROM WOODSIDE Liverpool waterfront, on the River Mersey. Including Museum of Liverpool and "Three Graces", Royal Liver Building, Cunard Building and Port of Liverpool Building. Pier Head Liverpool, viewed from the Wirral Peninsula, at night. CC-BY John Hickey-Fry https://flic.kr/p/nY7KpH

Following the successful inaugural congress in 2015, we once again look forward to bringing together researchers from around the world to explore and discuss the biology and psychology of affective touch, and its role in brain development and social behaviour.

Several influential studies have examined the neurobiology, physiology and genetics of affective touch, and highlighted its social and cognitive importance. The aim is to provide a platform for fruitful scientific exchanges in this nascent field, and foster interdisciplinary dialogue between scientists and professionals in education, health and social care.

♦ Registration ♦ Speakers ♦ Poster Abstracts ♦ Agenda ♦ Venue ♦



Registration is open only to IASAT members.

Membership is free for a limited time.

Please Login or Sign Up, then return to this page to unlock registration for IASAT 2017.


⇑ Top

Registration Prices:
Students & Early Career Researchers: £80 // Academic Members: £180 // Corporate & Other Members: £200

Registration includes full attendance Friday – Sunday, Wine Reception (Friday), and Gala Dinner (Saturday). 


⇑ Top

Invited Speakers

Victoria Abraira, Carissa Cascio, Laura Case, Francesco Cerritelli, Frances Champagne, Illona Croy, Ben Edin, Katerina Fotopoulou, Nina Jablonski, Siri Leknes, Ellen Lumpkin, Andrew Marshall, Francis McGlone, Aziz Moqrich, India Morrison, Chris Murtgatroyd, Håkan Olausson, Rebeccah Slater, Paula Trotter, Kerstin Uvnäs-Moberg, Martine van Puyvelde, Susannah Walker, Johan Wessberg, Stuart Wilson & more…

(speakers subject to change)


⇑ Top

Poster Abstracts

IASAT2017 Abstract Deadline: Sunday 9th July 2017

Please sign up / login & use our abstract submission form.

You can use the form to upload a file which should include your title, all authors (and their affiliations), and your abstract (File types supported: doc, docx, odt, fodt, rtf). Alternatively – use the form entry option. Please limit your abstract to 300 words. Reference lists should be avoided where possible. You may also include up to 2 images.

If uploading a file, please use our template:
IASAT 2017 Abstract Template (DOCX) – MS Word
IASAT 2017 Abstract Template (ODT) – OpenDocument
IASAT 2017 Abstract Template (RTF) – RichText

Please Note:
We have had reports of errors with certain web browsers (i.e. Firefox). We are investigating the issues, but our form has been tested to work with IE11, Google Chrome & Opera Browser. If you find you can’t proceed – please use another browser, or contact us.

Abstracts may be submitted prior to conference registration & payment, but the first / presenting author must be registered for the meeting to display the poster and present during the allocated session.

⇑ Top

Agenda (draft)

Friday 12:00 Registration
13:00 Welcome
13:15 Keynote
14:15 Session 1: The CT Afferent
17:45 Wine Reception & Poster Session 1
Saturday 09:00 Keynote
10:00 Session 2: From Cradle to Grave: CTs Across The Lifespan
12:20 Lunch & Poster Session 2
13:30 Session 3: The Neurochemistry of Affective Touch
16:00 ECR / PhD Session
18:30 Gala Dinner
20:30 Keynote
Sunday 09:00 Session 4: Current Theories of C-Tactile Afferent Function
11:30 Keynote
12:30 Closing Remarks

(agenda subject to change)

⇑ Top


IASAT 2017 will be held at Liverpool John Moores University
Byrom Street, Liverpool, United Kingdom, L3 3AF

There is limited on-site parking, so guests are encouraged to travel by public transport where possible. Guests requiring disabled access / parking are requested to contact us where possible.
Plan Your Visit (VisitLiverpool)

⇑ Top


Scientific Organising Committee:
Francis McGlone, LJMU  – Symposium Director
Susannah Walker, LJMU – Programme Chair
Håkan Olausson, LiU
Katerina Fotopoulou, UCL

Administrative Support:
Adarsh Makdani, LJMU
Claire Keenan, LJMU

Supported By

Johnson & Johnson | The Leverhulme Trust | Springer Publishing
ADInstruments | Experimental Psychology Society


⇑ Top

Partner Universities


⇑ Top