Many IASAT members are actively involved in research that directly, or indirectly, explores the biology and psychology of affective touch, and its role in brain development and social behaviour.

 Lab Group IASAT Affiliate(s)  Institution
CBCD: Centre for Brain and Cognitive Development Sarah Lloyd Fox Birkbeck, University of London, UK
GRASP: Group for Research in Affective Somatosensation and Pain  Håkan Olausson
India Morrison
Linköping University, SE
SomAffect: The Somatosensory & Affective Neuroscience Group Francis McGlone
Susannah Walker
David Moore
Liverpool John Moores University, UK
Perceptual and Cognitive Systems Expertise Group Jan van Erp TNO: Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research, NL
KatLab Aikaterini Fotopoulou University College London, UK
LIBR: Laureate Institute for Brain Research Martin Paulus University of California, San Diego, US
COME: Centre for Osteopathic Medicine Collaboration Francesco Cerritelli
Jorge Esteves
University of Chieti-Pescara (“G. d’Annunzio”), IT
Tactile Sensory Mechanisms of the Human Hand and Hairy Skin Johan Wessberg
Åke Vallbo
University of Gothenburg, SE
Cognitive Neuroimaging Group Donna Lloyd University of Leeds, UK
Calcium Channel Dynamics & Nociception Group @ IGF Emmanuel Bourinet University of Montpellier, FR
HMI: Human Media Interaction Research Group Dirk Heylen University of Twente, NL
Dijkermanlab: Touch, action and perception Chris Dijkerman Utrecht University, NL